top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Urmaza

SAUCONY ENDORPHIN SPEED: FIRST IMPRESSIONS

SAUCONY ENDOPRHIN SPEED: FIRST IMPRESSIONS

THREE WORDS: SAUCONY. NAILED. IT.

Saucony has unleashed a complete line-up of road-racing shoes set to cross the finish line at record speeds...and I must admit: The Endorphin Speed has exceeded my expectations.

 

SPECS

RELEASE YEAR: 2020

SHOE TYPE: road, racing

ARCH: neutral

WEIGHT: M= 7.8 oz (sz 9) // W=6.8 oz (sz 8)

STACK HEIGHT: heel=33mm // forefoot=25mm

PRICE POINT: $160

 


AESTHETICS

What a colorway! The shoe is vibrant, and the choice of colors for the OG model brings about an excitement to lace up and take this shoe for a ride. The Saucony logo is displayed on both sides of the shoe, and "Endorphin Speed" is detailed on the lace eyelets.

UPPER

The upper is comprised of a light, mesh-like material and is laced with a series of ventilated holes for added breath-ability. The upper is incredibly comfortable and wraps around the foot without any feeling of rigidity or stiffness, particularly near the toe box.


The laces are perfect on this shoe. I typically encounter issues with some laces being too long or too smooth and will replace the stock laces with a lock lacing system. However, I had no issues with the laces untying or getting in the way during my run with the Endorphin Speed. Besides, the lime green adds a bit of "pop" to the shoe's overall appearance.





FIT AND PERFORMANCE

RACE READY OUT OF THE BOX!

I had purchased the Endorphin Speed to use primarily as a long distance (10+ miles) trainer. However, I may lace them up for some track-based speed work.

I have worn the Endorphin Speed on two long runs thus far for a total mileage of 25 miles. Each run had some tempo-based intervals followed by short periods of active recovery, and one word comes to mind when running in the endorphin speed: Smooth.


The Endorphin Speed runs true to size and I do not have any issues with rubbing, chafing, or slipping. The heel cup does offer some structure throughout the shoe and may contribute to the overall security of the fit. Though the Endorphin Speed is marketed as a trainer in comparison to the Endorphin Pro, the Speed fits like a racing shoe...just a bit more comfortable.


MIDSOLE

This is where things get interesting.

Saucony integrates a nylon-based plate throughout the midsole. The classic "pop" as described among carbon-plated racers is not as apparent in the Endorphin Speed; however, the nylon plate does offer some stiffness to help propel you through your stride and keep you pushing off of your midfoot/forefoot. The propulsion is subtle, particularly in comparison to a shoe like the Nike Vaporfly Next%. Nonetheless, the ride is smooth and effortless. I was able to switch gears from tempo-pace to recovery and vice-versa without feeling a large lapse in paces.


The underfoot of the Endorphin Speed is cushioned with Saucony's newest foam: PWRUN PB. The shoe is light, bouncy, and responsiveness- highly responsive. I do not feel my feet sinking into the shoe and I am able to quickly transition through my stride.


With 33mm and 25mm of PWRUN PB, the overall cushioning is incredibly forgiving. Despite such a high stack height, the Endorphin Speed feels stable...even when turning corners.




TRACTION & DURABILITY

OUTSOLE

Rubber thinly lines the medial/lateral heel and covers the midfoot/forefoot in its entirety. The remainder of the outsole is exposed PWRUN PB. Although I have only run 25 miles in this shoe, I did not notice any significant issues with traction. At this point, I do not have clear expectations regarding the shoe's lifespan. However, I do anticipate to run many more miles in this shoe whilst maintaining its overall integrity and performance quality.


FINAL THOUGHTS

At $160, the Endorphin Speed offers a fast, responsive, race-ready ride for a significantly cheaper price than current plate-based racers. Honestly, I am already considering purchasing a second pair! This shoe is EASILY MY FAVORITE SHOE OF 2020. Hands down. No questions asked. Though I had initially purchased the Endorphin Speed as my long-distance trainer, I do anticipate pushing this shoe through the paces during track sessions. I am curious to see how this shoe responds are faster speeds.


Overall Rating: 97/100

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page