top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Urmaza

NIKE ZOOM FLY 3: RACER OR TRAINER?

Nike has undoubtedly made some exponential strides to the future of running shoe technology in 2019. The premiere of the ZoomX Vaporfly Next % in marathon racing imposed confounding interest in the extent of which running shoes may influence race performance. Though the Vaporfly Next % and Alphafly maintain as Nike's high-end marathon racers, the Zoom Fly 3 presents with similar characteristics at a significantly lower price point.


Nonetheless, the feel relative to the shoe's specifications, components, and overall performance still raises the question: Is the Zoom Fly 3 a racer, trainer, or both?

 

SPECS

RELEASE YEAR: 2019

SHOE TYPE: road, racing

ARCH: neutral

WEIGHT: M= 8.9 oz (sz 9) // W=7.4oz (sz 8)

STACK HEIGHT: heel=34mm // forefoot=23mm

PRICE POINT: $160 ($90-140 on sale)

 


AESTHETICS

On first impressions, the shoe looks fast-looks like a racer with a very similar appeal to that of the ZoomX Vaporfly Next%. The Zoom Fly 3 comes in a variety of vibrant colorways that are sure to get attention. The iconic Nike swoosh is extended from the forefoot across the lateral side of the shoe. A blank timer is displayed on the left heel counter and "engineered to exact specifications of world-class runners" is tagged alongside the medial outsole.


The upper is comprised of Vaporweave, a new moisture-wicking material that Nike unveiled in their 2019 racing series. I have not run in any previous iterations of the Zoom Fly and cannot offer a valid comparison between VaporWeave and Flyknit. However, numerous runners have mentioned that the Vaporweave is a major upgrade in terms of look, feel, and breathe-ability.


The Zoom Fly 3 originally comes with traditional laces, but I swapped out the stock laces with a lock-lacing system to avoid having to continuously adjust the laces mid-run.





FIT AND PERFORMANCE

I had initially purchased the Zoom Fly 3 to use strictly as a racer or uptempo shoe during my preparation for the Miami Marathon. Despite having run approximately 110-130 road miles in the Zoom Fly 3, I am still left uncertain as to how I truly feel about the shoe's performance at certain speeds and distances.


The Zoom Fly 3 runs true to size and features a bootie-like fit. I personally preferred the aesthetics of the men's shoes over the women's and purchased a size 7.5 M. The bootie is comprised of a neoprene/mesh material that feels like a form-fitted sock. On a positive note, the bootie alleviates the upending discomfort of a tongue; however, I have noticed a few hot-spots along the heel collar if the foot is not completely locked down.


Similar to the Vaporfly Next%, the Zoom Fly 3 has a full-length carbon plate for some added stiffness and pop. I have had some difficulty in discerning the support of the carbon plate during faster-paced runs; the carbon plate does not feel as pronounced as in the Next % or Hoka One One Carbon X.


With regards to the midsole, Nike decided to cushion the Zoom Fly 3 with React foam. The foam is incredibly soft and bouncy. I enjoy the comfort that the React foam provides during long, steady runs. Nonetheless, my foot/stride will tend to sink into the shoe if I do not pay close attention to my foot strike or when my form begins to break down. I have taken this shoe on runs upwards of 20 miles at steady and sub-threshold paces. Alternatively, I have also run a few 800m track sessions in the Zoom Fly 3. My appreciation for the shoe's performance differs significantly between the two types of runs - the combination of the React foam and carbon plate accommodate the demands of a long run (continuous pounding over distance) but do not necessarily offer propulsion as anticipated in faster workouts.


The Zoom Fly 3 also presents with a stack height of 34mm (per Nike.com). Again, Nike does an excellent job in providing a solid cushion; however, I would not consider the Zoom Fly 3 reliable or efficient in turning or cornering. This shoe is best suited for smooth, linear routes with minimal turns or technical terrains.


At nearly 8.4 oz for a men's sz 7.5, the Zoom Fly 3 falls right in the middle of a racer/trainer. The shoe is not particularly light and feels a bit bottom heavy through the stride. Sometimes I feel as if the shoe is running against me rather than with me, especially during tempo workouts.


DURABILITY

Black rubber lines the medial/lateral heel and covers the forefoot in its entirety. The midfoot and remainder of the outsole is exposed React foam. The shoes pictured above have covered approximately 30 miles and show very minimal wear - the shoe still looks brand new. I have a second pair that I have run no more than 130 road miles that show some mild wear along the forefoot, but I anticipate the shoe to last at least another 150 miles.


FINAL THOUGHTS

At $160 , the Zoom Fly 3 is set at a significantly lower price point than the ZoomX Next%, Alphafly, and other carbon-plate-based shoes.


To answer the question: Is this shoe a racer, trainer, or both? Will I use the Zoom fly 3 in a race?

In terms of overall performance, I prefer to use the Zoom Fly 3 for steady runs (regardless of distance) with minimal changes in pace as opposed to speed or tempo workouts. The combination of React foam and carbon plate produces a comfortable and bouncy ride, however the shoe can feel bit heavy. I do not see myself lacing the Zoom Fly 3s for a race, but I am looking forward to how Nike will improve the next iteration of the Zoom Fly series.


Overall Rating: 7.5/10










35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page