top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Urmaza

3.5 HR BRICK INTERVALS

Updated: May 26, 2020

Time: 11am

Location: Key Biscayane

Workout: Brick intervals - Run x Bike

Shoes: Adidas Adios 4

Total distance completed: Run= 7 miles // Bike= 44.3 miles

 

THIS WAS HARD.

Today called for a series of brick intervals consisting of:

1. 15 min run

2. Big gear bike intervals

3. 20 min run

4. Big gear bike intervals

5. 20 minute run

Run 2 x Bike 2 x Run 3
Run 1 x Bike 1

This was the first time I had actually done a workout in this format and it was mentally as it was physically exhausting to complete.


I went into the first run feeling great. Legs were turning over quickly, lungs were primed, and I was good to go. I was looking forward to this workout because I wanted to get a better gauge as to how my legs felt after a shorter (1 hr-ish) ride as compared to a typical 2-2.5 hour ride despite having to repeat both the run and bike for a second set.


Both bike intervals were more difficult than anticipated. The key was WINDY! But again, I can't control the weather. My motivation and willingness to continue the workout started to decline during the second bike interval. Honestly, I just wanted to go home. I felt like I was riding into headwinds for 20 miles and going absolutely nowhere- legs were exhausted and I was mentally checking out.


I had parked my car at North Hobbie Beach just before the entrance to the bridge. And let me say, the climb up the bridge to get back to my car for the final run was just absolute self-induced torture. My legs were so fatigued I had to remind myself to keep pedaling up the bridge to not fall off my bike.


I had built some confidence after the second run. However, the third and final run got the best of me. It chewed me up and spit me right back out. I was done.

Part of me started to doubt my ability to run a 10k off of the bike. Some may say, "didn't you just do a half iron? (2 mi run x 56 mi bike x 13.1 mi run)" Ok, Ok, I did...BUT the 10k is definitely a very different speed than a half marathon - It's one of those distances where the feeling of throwing up is almost inevitable...maybe even mandatory (ha!)...as you just haul ass to the finish line.


That small glimpse of darkness during that last run couldn't have come at a more opportune moment than the completion of the Olympic Trials Marathon. Over 700 athletes, professional and amateur alike, toed the line in Atlanta, GA to compete for a spot in the U.S. Olympic Team for the 2020 games. Did those athletes struggle? Did those athletes have bad workouts? Did those athletes have moments of doubt? YES! They're human. But, did they quit? Absolutely not. They showed up day in and day out and ran to the very last second of each set.

I couldn't help but to think of those athletes racing today as I struggled through that final run. That run may have only been 20 minutes, but those 20 minutes meant something - when all you have is 20 minutes to the end, are you going to cut corners? Are you going to take the easy way out because you've already put in nearly 3 hours of work? Those last 20 minutes, last 10km, last 5 km, last mile - that's where character is made.


Accomplished, but never satisfied.

 













23 views0 comments
bottom of page